Wednesday, May 7, 2008

The Fairy Chronicles

The Fairy Chronicles is a wonderful series with the motto "inside you is the power to do anything." Each story teaches a lesson about positive values from courage to respect to self-esteem. Our girls are only four years old, so they are a bit young for all the lessons in the series. They are learning about chapter books in preschool, and these books are a nice introduction to the joys of chapter books.

The newest book, Cinnabar and the Island of Shadows, features magical creatures living on a secret island. The story highlights teamwork and girl power. Since reading the book, the girls are obsessed with shadows. There is a beautiful drawing of the four fairies on a sea turtle that simply enchanted our girls. The Fairy Facts at the back of the book are an added science lesson.

What I like best about the series is that it captures the girls' imaginations. After we read a story, the girls incorporate the messages and action into their imaginative play. Different stuffed animals become fairies and the games follow the stories. Sometimes the girls themselves pretend to be different fairies.

I think we'll collect the entire series and read them over and over again. The Fairy Chronicles is that kind of a collection.

1 comment:

Mississippi Songbird said...

That sounds wonderful! I bet you have such fun..